Through collaboration, ensure that transportation systems are safe, accessible, equitable, and environmentally responsible, while also promoting economic growth and improving quality of life for all members of the community.

If you are interested in becoming a member of the Transportation Committee, please email infrastructurela@pw.lacounty.gov. 

Sharon Gookin, Chair

Sharon Gookin is Deputy CEO of Metro, where she oversees the long-term planning and development of the transit system, manages public-private partnership initiatives, and supervises the Metro Audit Services Department. She has extensive experience in infrastructure projects across the country and has worked on projects such as the Purple Line Light Rail Transit Project, the I-495 Express Lanes Project, and the State Highway 130 Highway Project. Ms. Gookin holds a Bachelor of Science in Architectural Engineering from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo and a Master of Engineering, Civil Engineering from UC Berkeley.

Terri Mestas, Vice Chair

Terri Mestas is the Chief Development Officer for Los Angeles World Airports (LAWA). She is responsible for overseeing several development projects at LAWA, including the Landside Access Modernization Program, Terminal Development Improvement Program, and Airfield and Terminal Modernization Project. Before joining LAWA, she held the position of Senior Director for Capital Projects, Modernization, Planning, Design and Construction at The California Institute of Technology, where she led a multi-disciplinary team managing complex projects across 124 acres and other satellite locations. She has also held several positions for AECOM, including Vice President, Federal Market Sector Leader, Principal in Charge, and Program Manager for various projects. Ms. Mestas is an expert on physical security and is certified as a LEED Accredited Professional, Project Manager, and Construction Manager.